Current Events

Dates of coverage: Varies [many from 1984; some from 1964] - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides full text for over 4,500 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education, and multicultural journals and indexing and abstracts for over 8,500 journals and magazines. Over 7,400 journals are peer reviewed, with 3,900 full-text.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Born of the New Left, the API was launched in 1969 to provide access to the emerging theories and practices of radical social change. API coverage is both international and interdisciplinary. With over 344,000 records, the API is considered the most comprehensive and up-to-date guide to alternative sources of information available.

Dates of coverage: 1980 - 1996
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

An American daily newspaper based in Boston, Massachusetts. It is a leading news source for Massachusetts, breaking news, business, sports, health, arts and entertainment, politics, education, cars, jobs, real estate, and more.

Dates of coverage: 1997 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

An American daily newspaper based in Boston, Massachusetts. It is a leading news source for Massachusetts, breaking news, business, sports, health, arts and entertainment, politics, education, cars, jobs, real estate, and more.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text page images of the Boston Globe.

Dates of coverage: 1980 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Provides online access in HTML format to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Includes: the Christian Science Monitor (1988-present), Boston Globe (1980 - present), New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present) among others.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources, Theses & Dissertations

A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs, CIAO publishes a wide range of scholarship that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, policy briefs and case studies by leading scholars.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Covers major journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study to create a research and reference resource that encompasses the breadth of the communication discipline.

Dates of coverage: 1991 - present
Full text: All
Concurrent Users: 10
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Contains original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news, providing in-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Reports are published 44 times a year by CQ Press.

There is a limit of 10 concurrent users.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A World-Wide Web-based system of periodical databases. It includes indexes to general, academic, and business periodicals, newspapers, and CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature), Corporate ResourceNet, EconLit, ERIC, PsycINFO (formerly PsycLit), Sociological Abstracts (formerly Sociofile), and SportDiscus. Some of the materials found in these databases are available in full-text format.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

The online version of the Europa World Year Book and the Europa Regional Surveys of the World series. Covers political and economic information in more than 250 countries and territories and includes current and archival content.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Brings together and enhances nearly seven decades of news from the renowned Facts On File World News Digest in print. Updated weekly.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Full-text database of news, business, legal and government information. News resources include articles from international and national newspapers, magazines and trade journals, and broadcast media transcripts. Legal resources include state and federal statutes, regulations, case law, and law reviews/journals. Also includes extensive legal guides by subject and EU legal sources.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The definitive index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. This database contains indexing,abstracts, and selected full text for more than 140 LGBT-specific core periodicals and over 290 LGBT-specific core books and reference works. LGBT Life provides comprehensive coverage of traditional academic, cultural, lifestyle, and regional publications, including The Advocate, Lesbian News, Washington Blade, Bay Area Reporter, etc. In addition, other source-types such as monographs and reference books as well as grey literature, including newsletters, case studies, speeches, etc. are represented.

Dates of coverage: 1985 - 1996
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

The Los Angeles Times is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California. The Los Angeles Times is a leading source of news on Southern California, entertainment, movies, television, music, politics, business, health, technology, travel, sports, environment, economics, autos, jobs, real estate and other topics affecting California.

Dates of coverage: 1996 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

The Los Angeles Times is a daily newspaper published in Los Angeles, California. The Los Angeles Times is a leading source of news on Southern California, entertainment, movies, television, music, politics, business, health, technology, travel, sports, environment, economics, autos, jobs, real estate and other topics affecting California.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text page images of the Los Angeles Times.

Dates of coverage: Current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Regarded as the most credible, objective, and authoritative voice in the Beltway, National Journal has been Washington's premier source of nonpartisan insight on politics and policy for more than four decades. A significant re-launch in Fall 2010 enhanced this unparalleled reputation for intelligence and depth with energy, currency, and speed.

National Journal properties include NationalJournal.com, National Journal, National Journal Daily, and National Journal Hotline. A new combined newsroom of reporters fulfills the demands of consumers across the entire news continuum: breaking news, offering instant analysis and vital context, and delivering big picture perspective on the impact of new developments on the future of legislation, public policy, and political outcomes.

Dates of coverage: Varies by newspaper
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

This database's detailed indexing helps users quickly find the news information they need. Each issue is indexed thoroughly, so they have access to not only top news stories but also the information contained on the various sections of the paper. The indexing covers not only complete bibliographic information but also companies, people, products, etc.

Dates of coverage: 1851-2009 (Index 1851-1993)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers, Primary Sources

Provides digital reproductions of every page of every issue--cover to cover--all the way back to the first issue in September 1851. That means researchers can find not only news, editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, and birth and marriage announcements but also historical photos, drawings, maps, charts, and advertisements. For printing instructions, click here.

Dates of coverage: 1980 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Provides online access in HTML format to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Includes: New York Times (1980-present), Boston Globe (1980 - present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and the Christian Science Monitor (1988-present) among others.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text page images of the New York Times.

Dates of coverage: 1995-present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text for 155 regional U.S. newspapers, 18 international newspapers, 6 newswires, 9 newspaper columns, The Christian Science Monitor, and The Los Angeles Times. Also contains indexing and abstracts for four national newspapers.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in Context is an engaging online experience for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. Drawing on the acclaimed Greenhaven Press series, the new solution features continuously updated viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.

Dates of coverage: 1915 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Covers all subjects that bear on public affairs and public policy, including the policy-oriented literature of academic social sciences such as economics, finance, law, education, the military, political science, public administration, international law and relations. Indexes publications from and about all countries, governmental and non-governmental organizations at all levels.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: 1986 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

Database of public opinion polls containing the full text of 500,000+ questions and responses, from 14,000+ surveys, conducted in the United States and more than 100 other countries around the world.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Includes complete content of Boston Globe, Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post.

Dates of coverage: 1980 - present (Varies by Title)
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

ProQuest National Newspapers Expanded provides online access to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Includes: The New York Times (1980-present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Washington Post (1987-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), Christian Science Monitor (1988-present, and the Boston Globe (1980 - present) among others.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users

A leading full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters from more than 2,500 peer-reviewed journals and more than 11,000 books. Disciplines covered are physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1911 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Newspapers

The UNH Publication Index includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.

Dates of coverage: Current month
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

The New Hampshire Union Leader is the daily newspaper of Manchester, the largest city in the state of New Hampshire. It was founded in 1863.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present, with older documents being added
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Government Information

Includes official UN documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures. Also includes resolutions from various UN bodies from 1947- present. Searching is available in the official UN languages of Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Dates of coverage: 1984 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains the full-text Wall Street Journal newspaper which has extensive coverage of stock markets, finance, investments and business-oriented news. Database content includes business and financial news and analysis, company news, regular columns and special reports, in-depth features focusing on the national and world economy, editorials and opinion, interviews, company and personal profiles, and Reuters news stories. Updated daily.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text page images of the Wall Street Journal.

Dates of coverage: 1988 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Provides online access in HTML format to the most respected national and regional newspapers from across the U.S. Includes: Washington Post (1988-present), New York Times (1980-present), Boston Globe (1980 - present), The Wall Street Journal (1984-present), Los Angeles Times (1985-present), and the Christian Science Monitor (1988-present) among others.

Dates of coverage: 2008 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Contains full text page images of the Washington Post.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Newspapers

Extensive database of translated and English-language news and information taken from the foreign media (newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classed technical reports) covering socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events.

Attention Mac users: Use Safari to access this database.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Theses & Dissertations

Searches the OCLC catalog of books, web resources, and other material worldwide. Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries (generally academic, special, large public libraries, and library consortia). Can be searched by subject, title, author, keyword, or a variety of other access points. Materials found via WorldCat (and not in the UNH Library collection) can be ordered through Interlibrary Loan through the WorldCat interface.