Chemistry

Dates of coverage: 1879-1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Full text searching and instant access to all titles, volumes, issues, and articles published by the American Chemical Society (ACS). The Archives enables researchers to understand historical discoveries that led to modern chemistry and influenced such fields as biology, physics, medicine, agriculture, and engineering.

Dates of coverage: 1996 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The American Chemical Society is the leading publisher of peer-reviewed research journals in the chemical and related sciences, serving scientific communities worldwide through an unparalleled commitment to quality, reliability, and innovation.

Dates of coverage: 1978 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Produced by the Royal Society of Chemistry. Offers comprehensive coverage of analytical chemistry information, allowing searching of analytes, matrices and by concept (techniques, physico-chemical parameters, instruments, etc.). Accessible via Analytical WebBase, this offers indexing of 230 journals, with full coverage of 50 journals, as well as selected books and other information.

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: N/A
Access: Restricted to UNH users

The industry-standard software for chemical structure drawing that allows you to create stereochemically-correct structures from chemical names. Our site license permits UNH community members to install ChemDraw Standard on personal computers. To download onto your computer, click this link, enter your @unh.edu email address for authentication, click 'Continue' to start downloading, follow the instructions. For download questions, contact Chemistry Library staff (chemistry.library@unh.edu).

Dates of coverage: Published 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Builds on the classic Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry, published in 1987, and surveys new developments authoritatively, with an emphasis on current trends in biology, materials science and other areas of contemporary scientific interest.

Dates of coverage: Published 1984
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Devoted to organic heterocyclic compounds in which at least one of the ring atoms is carbon, the others being considered the heteroatoms; carbon is still by far the most common ring atom in heterocyclic compounds. As the number and variety of heteroatoms in the ring increase there is a steady transition to the expanding domain of inorganic heterocyclic systems.

Dates of coverage: Published 1991
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Draws together the common themes that underlie the many apparently disparate areas of organic chemistry which underpin synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. The contributions have been organized to reflect the way in which synthetic chemists approach a problem. In terms of organic molecules, the work is divided into formation of carbon-carbon bonds, introduction of heteroatoms and heteroatom interconversions.

Dates of coverage: Published 1982
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Dates of coverage: Published 1995
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

A compendium of knowledge covering contemporary organometallic and carbon monoxide chemistry. In addition to reviewing the chemistry of the elements individually, it surveys the use of organometallic species in organic synthesis and in catalysis, especially of industrial utility.

Dates of coverage: Current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

A structured database holding information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. A free browser plug-in is available that allows you to draw and upload graphical structure queries.
Please click "Get the Plug-In" (on list to left of search screen) for instructions and download.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed., 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering. This edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Offers data on physical, thermodynamic, mechanical, and other key properties and is a major reference source used by those involved in chemistry, physics, and engineering. Many tables have been "knovelized" to be interactive. The full text of the original print version is available in PDF format (full-text searchable), including the original index. All entries in the index are hyperlinked to their page numbers.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users

Software--and a lot more-- for learning chemistry! With over 100 titles on tap, JCE Software covers a broad spectrum of the chemistry curriculum, from high school to postgraduate.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research methods in video format. To help communicate complex laboratory techniques, JoVE Biology provides step-by-step protocols accompanied by videos that help in visualizing the procedures, often with commentary from the researchers.

Currently, UNH provides access to the Biology and Neuroscience sections only.

Dates of coverage: 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Features tables of properties for commonly used chemical compounds in the physical properties tables. Tables in kCT include Basic Physical Properties of Inorganic Compounds, Basic Physical Properties of Organic Compounds, Critical Properties and Acentric Factor, Enthalpy of Formation, Enthalpy of Vaporization, Entropy of Formation, Entropy of Gas, Gibbs Energy of Formation, Heat Capacity of Gas, Helmholtz Energy of Formation, Internal Energy of Formation, Basic Physical Properties of Common Solvents, and Safety Properties of Common Solvents.

Dates of coverage: variable
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. You may search by substance or property. Data that may be available for a substance include: thermochemistry and reaction thermochemistry, ion energetics; spectra: mass, UV, gas phase IR, vibrational and electronic; constants of diatomic molecules; Henry's Law data and thermophysical properties.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

SDBS is a selective database; it includes data for 6 types of spectra: EI mass spectrometry (over 20,000 compounds), hydrogen NMR, 13C NMR, FT-IR (over 49,000 spectra), and some ESR and Raman spectra. Access is free, but users are asked to limit downloads to 50 or fewer spectra per day.

If you use data from SDBS for a publication, please acknowledge, for example:
SDBSWeb: http://sdbs.riodb.aist.go.jp (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, date of access)

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

Creates literature lists of thermodynamic and transport properties of molecular organic compounds for chemical systems of three components or less. NIST searches are required by certain journals; also useful for proposals and active research. Select system type, search for simple molecules, select the property to get report draft that can be used to make PDF.

Dates of coverage: Published 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks

Provides a comprehensive, integrated summary of the present state of geochemistry. Deals with all the major subjects in the field, ranging from the chemistry of the solar system to environmental geochemistry.

Access: Restricted to UNH users

WebCSD is the online web portal to the Cambridge Structural Database, the world repository of small-molecule crystal structures.