Biological Sciences

US Federal

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Natural Sciences

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies.

Access: Open Access
Type: Natural Sciences

A working list of all known plant species; aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts). It does not include algae or fungi.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Natural Sciences

Provides access to genetic and molecular biology data for the model higher plant Arabidopsis thaliana. Data available from TAIR includes the complete genome sequence along with gene structure, gene product information, gene expression, DNA and seed stocks, genome maps, genetic and physical markers, publications, and information about the Arabidopsis research community.

Articles

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

The Society's journals cover the spectrum of microbiology, including coverage of both basic and clinical microbiology.

Dates of coverage: 2001 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers comprehensive, timely collections of critical review articles written by leading scientists. Annual Reviews volumes are published each year for 29 focused disciplines within the Biomedical, Physical, and Social Sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1983 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Articles from both trade and professional society journals, in applied science and technology; including aeronautics; applied, optical, and neural computing; applied mathematics; artificial intelligence; atmospheric sciences; construction; energy resources; food science; information technology; marine and space technology, robotics, and several engineering areas, including automotive, biomedical, chemical, civil, electrical, environmental, industrial, and mechanical.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources including serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Dates of coverage: 1972 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Access to current publications in all fields of micropaleontology, the study of microscopic fossils; special features allow focus on fossil groups, range of dates, types of publications, GeoRef keywords.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections; BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Dates of coverage: 1985 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to articles in biological and biomedical research journals, covering about 5,200 sources; long abstracts and indexing of scientific names and systematic categories are important features.

Dates of coverage: 1999 - 2008
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides immediate open access to peer-reviewed biomedical research.

Dates of coverage: 1998 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Aggregation of primary research in the fields of organismal biology, ecology, zoology, and environmental science; topics include global warming, stem cell research, and ecological and biodiversity conservation.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Access to research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Focuses on articles, books, and gray literature including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Access to articles on chemoreception research and applications including basic and applied research, standardization and legislation, methods and instrumentation, patents, and marketing.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides citations to papers and poster sessions presented at major scientific meetings around the world; since 1995 emphasis has been in the life sciences, environmental sciences and the aquatic sciences; pre-1995 material also covers physics, engineering and materials science.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Multidisciplinary database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides abstracts and citations to material in the environmental sciences; includes scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Focuses on citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Focuses on citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Dates of coverage: 1665 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles
Funded by: in part by the University of New Hampshire Graduate School

A digital library of academic journals, books, and primary sources in a wide range of disciplines. Coverage is not designed for current material, thus it does not cover information from the most recent 2 to 5 years.

Dates of coverage: 1949 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences; e-books are included in the collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

The National Science Library of Canada is a source for information in all areas of science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides indexes to 1,000 nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences, including those in PubMed.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals in scientific and medical literature.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides access to articles in medical research journals and citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books; subject coverage includes medicine, nursing, pharmacy, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and health care.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - current
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1981 - current
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Focused to meet the needs of toxicologists, covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Indexes biomedical literature that covers toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides access to technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.

Dates of coverage: 1935 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Indexes articles which cover wildlife and wildlife management; uses scientific names of reptiles, amphibians, birds, and mammals and is the best source for governmental publications, especially state publications, concerning wildlife issues.

Audio, Video & Images

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that publishes biological, medical, chemical and physical research methods in video format. To help communicate complex laboratory techniques, JoVE Biology provides step-by-step protocols accompanied by videos that help in visualizing the procedures, often with commentary from the researchers.

Currently, UNH provides access to the Biology and Neuroscience sections only.

Dates of coverage: 2006 - present
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Audio, Video & Images

A peer-reviewed scientific video journal that includes techniques from a wide variety of fields, focusing on those intended to lend insight into the structure, function, physiology and pathophysiology of the central and peripheral nervous systems.

Currently, UNH provides access to the Biologyand Neuroscience sections only.

Collections

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections; BHL also serves as the foundational literature component of the Encyclopedia of Life.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Multidisciplinary database of open access journals covering all scientific and scholarly subjects.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

The National Science Library of Canada is a source for information in all areas of science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals in scientific and medical literature.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present for most titles
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Collections

Offers journal articles and book chapters in the disciplines of physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.

Ebooks

Dates of coverage: 2004 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias
Funded by: the Philip J. Sawyer Fund

Lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.

Dates of coverage: 1955 to current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the field of enzymology, which includes the chemistry and mechanism of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, as well as the chemistry of the enzymes themselves.

The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia of microbiology, arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and biotechnology; organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.

Encyclopedias

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A college-level encyclopedia of science and technology. Includes a science dictionary, an "In the News" section, and several features for undergraduate students: basic tables, study guides, and brief scientific biographies.

Mac Users - Use Safari with this database. There have been access problems with Internet Explorer.

Dates of coverage: 2004 -
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias
Funded by: the Philip J. Sawyer Fund

Lab manual containing basic methods for DNA preparation and isolation, library screening, and sequencing along with more advanced procedures detailing DNA-protein interactions, yeast manipulation, and phosphorylation analyses.

Dates of coverage: Published 2004
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, and covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work which includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Dates of coverage: 3rd ed., 2001
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Compendium of chemistry, molecular biology, mathematics, and engineering. This edition has an increased emphasis on information processing and biotechnology, reflecting the rapid growth of these areas.

Dates of coverage: Published 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Covering anatomy, physiology, neuropsychology, clinical neurology, neuropharmacology, evolutionary biology, genetics, and behavioral science.

Dates of coverage: 1955 to current
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Focuses on rapidly developing techniques in the field of enzymology, which includes the chemistry and mechanism of enzyme-catalyzed reactions, as well as the chemistry of the enzymes themselves.

The background information provided enables researchers to understand the principles underlying the methods; other helpful sections include comparisons of alternative methods giving the advantages and disadvantages of particular methods, guidance on avoiding potential pitfalls, and suggestions for troubleshooting.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

An encyclopedia of microbiology, arranged in topical essays and taxonomic groups, topics include physiology, genetics, identification, culture, and biotechnology; organisms covered include various types of bacteria and the symbiotic relationships that involve bacteria.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A reference work containing articles on the anatomy, physiology, and molecular biology of sensory organs; topics covered include the perception, psychophysics, and higher order processing of sensory information, as well as disorders and new diagnostic and treatment methods.

Handbooks

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Handbooks

Provides research-based nutrition information and clinical tools for dietitians, dietetic technicians, and other health care professionals.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Statistics, Polls & Data Sets

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Technical Reports

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Premier reference in the field of aquatic resources including serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Gateway to information resources at government science agencies including science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1967 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Provides access to technical and scientific literature on water-related topics covering the characteristics, conservation, control, pollution, treatment, use and management of water resources.

Theses & Dissertations

Dates of coverage: 1861 - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Theses & Dissertations

Includes citations back to 1861, abstracts back to 1980 and 24-page previews for all dissertations after 1997. Also includes the full-text of all UNH dissertations from 1997 onward, as well as full-text of all UNH Masters Theses from 2006 onward.