Biography

General

Dates of coverage: 1600s - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Profiles of more than 18,700 deceased men and women -- from all eras and walks of life -- whose lives have shaped the US. Search or browse by name or use Advanced Search (Search tab) to find people by occupation/realm of renown, gender, birth and/or death date, birthplace, and more.

All the articles originally included in the ANB Online were on biographical subjects who died before the end of 1995. Articles on important figures who have died since 1995 are being added in quarterly updates, but coverage of people in this category is not yet complete. If you cannot find an article on a subject, he or she may have died after 1995, or may be living.

Dates of coverage: 1600's - 1990
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Interpretative biographical articles on deceased (prior to 1991) people from every social group and sphere of endeavor who have made a significant contribution to the Australian nation. Entries range from 500 to 6,000 words.

Entries are currently being selected for people who died in 1991-2000.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Offers over 600,000 biographies spanning history and geography with over 50,000 new and/or updated biographies added annually. Content includes reference material, magazines, audio and video content, images, and links to screened, reliable websites. Can browse or search by name, occupation, nationality, etc. or by multiple criteria in Advanced Search.

Dates of coverage: 4th Century BC - 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past. Offers a variety of browse and search options as well as themes (reference groups, reference lists, and feature essays on topical anniversaries.

Dates of coverage: 1500 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Index to English-language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories by more than 18,000 individuals. Full text or descriptive records are included.

Dates of coverage: Early Middle Ages - Present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes more than 21,000 biographies of families and deceased persons with a close relation to the German language area who have had a significant impact on developments in scholarship, arts, technology, medicine, economics, politics or social life have been published.

Dates of coverage: Colonial - 1950
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Primary Sources

Includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters, which can be browsed or searched in depth.

Dates of coverage: 4th Century BC - 2002
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

An illustrated collection of more than 58,000 biographies of the men and women who died before the year 2009 and who shaped all aspects of Britain's past – plus over 500 Theme articles on important groups and topical anniversaries

Specialized

Dates of coverage: 22nd ed. (2005) - present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Ebooks, Encyclopedias

Respected biographical dictionary of the significant players in the physical, biological, and related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries on approximately 120,000 living scientists, providing birth date & place, field of specialty, education, professional and career information, awards, research information, addresses where available, and more.

Dates of coverage: Classical Antiquity - Present
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides information on the history of science through articles on the professional lives of scientists. All periods of science from classical antiquity to modern times are represented.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Provides more than 16,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of the world's most influential literary figures from all eras and genres, including authors, historians, journalists, screenwriters, publishers, and playwrights.

Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias
Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Full text of the 29-volume print edition with cross-referencing and a network of web-links to musical sites around the world, including sound archives and illustrations.

Dates of coverage: c. 1000 - 2003
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Contains biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists, and instrument makers. Emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and show tunes with care devoted to coverage of the twentieth century.

Dates of coverage: All eras
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online is the access point for Grove Art Online, a scholarly art encyclopedia, covering both Western and non-Western art.