Agriculture

Dates of coverage: 1970 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Theses & Dissertations

Bibliographic database consisting of literature citations for journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. This extensive database provides selective worldwide coverage of primary information sources in agriculture and related fields.

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This United Nations database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural publications. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is free to all.

Dates of coverage: 1971 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles, Technical Reports

Overwhelmingly cited by a majority of aquatic science librarians as their primary database, the ASFA series is the premier reference in the field of aquatic resources. Input to ASFA is provided by a growing international network of information centers monitoring over 5,000 serial publications, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations and limited distribution literature. ASFA is a component of the Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System (ASFIS) (Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Information System), formed by four United Nations agency sponsors of ASFA and a network of international and national partners.

Dates of coverage: 1982 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Bibliographic coverage of ground-breaking research, applications, regulatory developments and new patents across all areas of biotechnology and bioengineering, including medical, pharmaceutical, agricultural, environmental and marine biology.

Dates of coverage: 1973-present
Full text: Some
Concurrent Users: 4
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Extensive international database focusing on articles, books, and gray literature covering a wide range of subject areas including agriculture, animal and veterinary sciences, environmental sciences, human health, food and nutrition, leisure and tourism, microbiology and parasitology, and plant sciences.

Dates of coverage: early 19th century - late 20th century
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Dates of coverage: Published 2004
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

Summarizes recent advances in forest science techniques, and covers the basic information vital to comprehensive understanding of the important elements of forestry, relevant biology and ecology, different types of forestry (e.g. tropical forestry and dryland forestry), scientific names of trees and shrubs, and the applied, economic, and social aspects of forest management.

Dates of coverage: 2004 Edition
Full text: All
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Encyclopedias

A key reference work for professionals in academia, industry and government, as well as students at all levels. This resource includes information on contemporary pest management issues such as biotechnology, genetically modified foods, public health, soil science, GIS and GPS is included.

Dates of coverage: Dates back over 100 years
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Offers deep coverage in the areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, and affiliated areas of study.

Dates of coverage: Varies by document
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections

Consists of documents published by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. FAO was founded in October 1945 with a mandate to raise levels of nutrition and standards of living, to improve agricultural productivity, and to better the condition of rural populations.

Dates of coverage: 1961 - present
Access: Open Access
Type: General

A multilingual database containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in: production, trade, food-balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, agricultural machinery and population.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Dates of coverage: Begun in 1970; coverage goes back to 15th century.
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides citations to agricultural literature.

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000 nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - current
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Published in association with the Institute for Risk Research at the University of Waterloo, Risk Abstracts encompasses risk arising from industrial, technological, environmental, and other sources, with an emphasis on assessment and management of risk. The journal includes occasional articles on topics of significant interest. The broad, multidisciplinary coverage of risk-related concerns ranges from public and environmental health to social issues and psychological aspects. Researchers involved in risk research studies, environmental science, engineering and design, or any type of industry will find in Risk Abstracts essential information that can help them identify, measure, evaluate, and manage risks of all kinds.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Restricted to UNH users
Type: Articles

Provides access to scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities in addition to examining proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions.Editions included: Science Citation Index Expanded (1900-present); Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present); Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present).