Open Access

Dates of coverage: 1975 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This United Nations database is produced by the Food and Agriculture Organization and indexes international agricultural publications. AGRIS complements AGRICOLA, but is more narrowly focused to food and nutrition. The multilingual database is free to all.

Dates of coverage: 1990+
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Subject index to significant articles, news items, and editorials from English-language military and aeronautical periodicals.

Dates of coverage: Founded in 1997; online in 1998
Access: Open Access
Type: Social Sciences and Health

Collection of hundreds of surveys, polls, and other data submitted by researchers interested in religion. Includes American and international collections.

Dates of coverage: v.1 to present (Astronomy); 1975 to present (Physics)
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Technical Reports, Theses & Dissertations

NASA project, provides indexes to research publications in astronomy and astrophysics/planetary sciences/solar physics; instrumentation; physics and geophysics; and the Los Alamos preprint server. Sources include journals, conference proceedings, NASA reports, and dissertations. Searching is by author, object name (astronomy), title, words in the abstract, or journal citation. Links to online abstracts and journal articles, and extensive set of scanned journal and proceedings papers. Also provides access to NED (NASA/IPAC Extragalactic Database) and SIMBAD (Set of Identifications, Measurements, and Bibliography for Astronomical Data). Other functions include a table-of-contents service for over 20 journals, links to cited and citing articles, and scanned copies of selected books and observatory reports.

Dates of coverage: 1600's - 1990
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Interpretative biographical articles on deceased (prior to 1991) people from every social group and sphere of endeavor who have made a significant contribution to the Australian nation. Entries range from 500 to 6,000 words.

Entries are currently being selected for people who died in 1991-2000.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Consortium of natural history and botanical libraries that cooperate to digitize and make accessible the legacy literature of biodiversity held in their collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Freely accessible portal to historic botanical literature from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images

The world's leading source of art images, representing museums, galleries, and artists throughout the world by providing a central source of fine art for image users. Every subject, concept, style and medium is represented, from the masterpieces of national museums to the hidden treasures of private collections. Fine art is just one of the sources of images; design antiques, maps, architecture, furniture, glass, ceramics, anthropological artefacts and many others also feature in the collection.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Contains citations for articles, books, videos, etc. on topics including philanthropy, foundations, the nonprofit sector, voluntarism, government policies and funding, as well as theory and philosophy.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Public policy briefs issued by the CRS to inform members of Congress and their staff on subjects of current interest. Funded by taxpayer money and thus all in the public domain, these reports are nonpartisan and concise. Currently more than 3,300 reports are available.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Guide to the thousands of environmental non-profit, education, commercial, and government groups operating across the planet.

Dates of coverage: early 19th century - late 20th century
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

A core electronic collection of agricultural texts published between the early nineteenth century and the middle to late twentieth century. Full-text materials cover agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science,forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science. Scholars have selected the titles in this collection for their historical importance. Their evaluations and 4,500 core titles are detailed in the seven volume series The Literature of the Agricultural Sciences, Wallace C. Olsen, series editor.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Focuses on rare 18th and 19th century maps of the Western Hemisphere, but covers other areas. Features innovative interfaces for searching by area and time range.

Dates of coverage: 1800s - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Audio, Video & Images, Primary Sources

Offers a single point of access to millions of freely available digitized items—photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images, maps, and more—from America’s libraries, archives, and museums. In addition to a standard search engine, the portal provides searching and access by timeline, map, format, or topic.

Dates of coverage: 1700s - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

Provides links to primary sources of American history, including historic documents, digital collections from universities and archives, presidential papers, photograph collections and documents from all American conflicts from the French & Indian Wars to Desert Storm.

Dates of coverage: Varies (Ancient History - Present )
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Provides links to myriad primary sources of world history, searchable geographically, topically and chronologically. Also includes links to "landmark historic documents" as diverse as the Code of Hammurabi, the Magna Carta, the Manifesto of the Communist Party, and the Koran.

Dates of coverage: Contemporary Authors
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Lists names, addresses, and publication credits for over 8,200 contemporary authors.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Provides access to open-access scientific and scholarly journals.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

An online resource for automotive information. Its comprehensive set of data, tools and services is generated by Edmunds.com Information Solutions. This site includes Edmunds most popular consumer product, Edmunds.com True Market Value pricing, which provides market-reflective valuations for new and used vehicles.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is dedicated to the study of Iranian civilization in the Middle East, the Caucasus, Central Asia and the Indian Subcontinent. The academic reference work will eventually cover all aspects of Iranian history and culture as well as all Iranian languages and literatures, facilitating the whole range of Iranian studies research from archeology to political sciences.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

EPA Science Inventory is a searchable catalog with online access to on-going and completed science activities and scientific and technical products, conducted by EPA and by universities and other research institutions through EPA-funded assistance agreements. Simple and advanced searching are supported; help and contacts are included. For a broader search on EPA documents, please see our database entry for the National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP).

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, books, audio-visuals, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics.

Dates of coverage: Varies by document
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections

Consists of documents published by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations. FAO was founded in October 1945 with a mandate to raise levels of nutrition and standards of living, to improve agricultural productivity, and to better the condition of rural populations.

Dates of coverage: 1961 - present
Access: Open Access
Type: General

A multilingual database containing over 1 million time-series records covering international statistics in: production, trade, food-balance sheets, food aid shipments, fertilizer and pesticides, land use and irrigation, forest and fishery products, agricultural machinery and population.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication; earliest is 1781
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Business, Economics, and Finance

Digital access to historic policy documents and data related to U.S. economic history and financial system, including the history of the Federal Reserve System.

Dates of coverage: 1976-2001
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. More than 2,000 subject headings provide detailed analysis of the articles. The FLI Online contains approximately 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.

Dates of coverage: 1861 - 1977/1980
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Primary Sources

Presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity. The United States Department of State Office of the Historian offers online index searching for documents by keyword as well as limited full-text searching through the University of Wisconsin Digital Collections.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliographic database of citations to books, journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, news articles and audiovisuals relating to ethics and public policy issues in genetics.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Business, Economics, and Finance

Offers a structured, systematic and comprehensive approach to identifying and measuring the drivers of economic performance of more than 140 economies.

Dates of coverage: Varies by dataset
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

The state GIS clearinghouse for geospatial data produced by state and federal agencies and other organizations. Requires specialized software for use of datasets. Use of data requires agreement to disclaimer

Full text: All
Access: Open Access

An annotated guide to sources of information on government and law available online. It includes selected links to useful and reliable sites for legal information.

Dates of coverage: Varies by organization
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Provides basic information about the operations and finances of nonprofit organizations, including access to IRS Form 990. To view some data, users must register for a free password.

Dates of coverage: 1935 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

A bibliography of Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars. Edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, the multidisciplinary Handbook alternates annually between the social sciences and the humanities.

Dates of coverage: 1850-1925
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections, Primary Sources

A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance. The first phase of this project focused on books and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.

Dates of coverage: late 19th century to present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access

Contains approximately 19,000 citations to plays in English- and foreign-language collections, anthologies, and periodicals published since the late 19th century. Separately published plays are not included. The collections, anthologies and periodicals can be searched in the UNH Library catalog to determine whether the Library has them.

Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

A database of the names and associated basic bibliographical details of all seed plants, ferns and fern allies. IPNI is the product of a collaboration between The Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, The Harvard University Herbaria, and the Australian National Herbarium.

Dates of coverage: 1840-1900
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Materials accessible here are Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. This site provides access to 267 monograph volumes and over 100,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints. The Making of America collection comprises the digitized pages of books and journals. This system allows you to view scanned images of the actual pages of the 19th century texts.

Dates of coverage: 1800-1925
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Primary Sources

Making of America (MOA) is a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. The collection is particularly strong in the subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. The collection currently contains approximately 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles with 19th century imprints.

Dates of coverage: 1917-1958
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

NACA, the U.S. National Advisory Committee for Aeronautics, operated from 1917-1958, when it became NASA. The NACATRS offers searching, browsing, and full-text of NACA reports covering NACA-sponsored aeronautical research and research on related topics such as meteorological and atmospheric conditions.

Dates of coverage: Begun in 1970; coverage goes back to 15th century.
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides citations to agricultural literature.

Dates of coverage: NASA info: 1958-present; Non-NASA info: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Technical Reports

The NASA Technical Report Server (NTRS) provides students, educators, and the public with access to NASA's technical literature. NTRS also collects scientific and technical information from sites external to NASA to broaden the scope of information available to users. Almost a million references are indexed as of August, 2005. NTRS's Simple Search searches for NASA information only and its Advanced Search can search for NASA and non-NASA information. For NASA reports that are not fully available from NTRS, please check the UNH Library Catalog or contact the Library's Government Documents Department for information.

Dates of coverage: Varies by map
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data

Provides access to maps and other spatially referenced data for geology, geophysics, marine geology, earth resources, hazards, geochemistry, geochronology, and paleontology. Includes links to other sources of topographic and related maps, other earth science databases, and additional Web resources related to geology.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal, Technical Reports

NSCEP is the site for a wide variety of free EPA print and digital documents, including everything from pamphlets to research reports. It has simple, advanced, and field searching, as well as browsing. Help and contact information are included. For a narrower search of EPA-supported research, go to our database entry for the EPA Science Inventory.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

Contains summaries of 170,000 publications including Federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, and unpublished research. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drugs and crime, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims of crime.

Dates of coverage: Early Middle Ages - Present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

Includes more than 21,000 biographies of families and deceased persons with a close relation to the German language area who have had a significant impact on developments in scholarship, arts, technology, medicine, economics, politics or social life have been published.

Dates of coverage: 2005 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: State and Regional

Access to full-text of official New Hampshire electronic-only publications from all state executive agencies such as Agriculture, Transportation and Office of the Governor as well as some legislative and judicial agencies. This database is updated monthly.

Dates of coverage: variable
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

NIST Chemistry WebBook provides users with access to chemical and physical property data for chemical substances. Data provided are from collections maintained by the U.S. National Institutes of Standards and Technology (NIST) Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. You may search by substance or property. Data that may be available for a substance include: thermochemistry and reaction thermochemistry, ion energetics; spectra: mass, UV, gas phase IR, vibrational and electronic; constants of diatomic molecules; Henry's Law data and thermophysical properties.

Dates of coverage: 1990 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Social Sciences and Health

Demographic, health, and crime statistics for Maine, New Hampshire, and Vermont by county and state.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Is a source for information in all areas of science, technology, engineering and medicine.

Dates of coverage: Varies by Title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

Portal to key historical map collections including British Library, Harvard University, New York Public Library and many others. Use for a broad search for historical maps.

Dates of coverage: 1790-present (patents); ca. 1890-present (trademarks)
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Patents

The US Patent & Trademark Office (USPTO) site covers patent history, filing, and classification, with a complete database of U.S, patents allowing full text searching of patents granted from 1976 to present; patents granted from 1790-1975 are searchable via classification. Patents can be viewed as images (TIF format). The USPTO site also offers links to some international patent databases. For trademarks, the USPTO site lets you search for active and inactive U.S. trademarks, with words or numerical descriptors, providing online images of the trademarks, dating back to the late 19th century.

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Maps & Geospatial Data, Primary Sources

First place to look for contemporary or recent U.S. and non-U.S. maps. World-wide coverage, arranged geographically. Notable for CIA maps and topographic maps of non-U.S. locations.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Primary Sources

The Perseus Project is an evolving digital library of resources covering the history, literature and culture of the Greco-Roman world.

Dates of coverage: 1940 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Locate information on voluntarism, nonprofit organizations, fundraising, and charitable giving. Since November of 2003, dissertations, working papers, and web sites are also included.

The Find It link in these records pertains to IUPUI holdings; check the UNH Library catalog for our holdings.

Dates of coverage: 19th & 20th century
Access: Open Access
Type: Collections

A digital library of primary and secondary sources (books, journals, and pamphlets) that supports teaching and learning about philanthropy and the nonprofit sector.

Dates of coverage: 1973 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This University of Minnesota Library database indexes 1,000 nursery catalogs and 150 horticultural magazines. PIO is the best way to search for nursery sources of or magazine articles about specific varieties of ornamental plants. The service was preceded by the Andersen Horticultural Library's Source List.

Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Is a working list of all known plant species. Version 1 aims to be comprehensive for species of Vascular plant (flowering plants, conifers, ferns and their allies) and of Bryophytes (mosses and liverworts). It does not include algae or fungi.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

Provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories. It includes names, plant symbols, checklists, distributional data, species abstracts, characteristics, images, plant links, references, crop information, and automated tools.

Dates of coverage: 1920 -
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

An archive of global, non-partisan public policy research from think tanks, universities, government organizations and foundations. Subjects include government, international relations, business, culture and religion, demographics, energy, health, human rights and much more. Created by the Center for Governmental Studies.

Dates of coverage: 1986 - 2000
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

An annotated bibliography of recently published books, journal articles, working papers, and other materials on population topics.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Provides full-text document access to PDFs in the life sciences, including those in PubMed.

Dates of coverage: Varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Collections

Is a nonprofit organization of scientists and physicians committed to making the world's scientific and medical literature a public resource. Publishes peer-reviewed open-access journals.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

Produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals. Provides citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Updated every two years by members of the international Particle Data Group (PDG), RPP is a full review of current knowledge in particle physics. It includes data as well as well as textual information. Sections are: Summary Tables and Conservation Laws, including best values of measured properties of well-established particles; Reviews, Tables, Plots: covering the Standard Model, QCD, statistics, collider parameters, particle detectors, and cosmology; and Particle Listings, including evaluated data and brief reviews of aspects of many given particles.

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, US Federal, Technical Reports

Provides a gateway to information resources at government science agencies. Two major types of information included are selected authoritative science web sites and databases of technical reports, journal articles, conference proceedings, and other published materials.

Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, Natural Sciences

SDBS is a selective database; it includes data for 6 types of spectra: EI mass spectrometry (over 20,000 compounds), hydrogen NMR, 13C NMR, FT-IR (over 49,000 spectra), and some ESR and Raman spectra. Access is free, but users are asked to limit downloads to 50 or fewer spectra per day.

If you use data from SDBS for a publication, please acknowledge, for example:
SDBSWeb: http://sdbs.riodb.aist.go.jp (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, date of access)

Dates of coverage: 1995 - present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: Encyclopedias

The SEP was designed so that each entry is maintained and kept up to date by an expert or group of experts in the field. All entries and substantive updates are refereed by the members of a distinguished Editorial Board before they are made public. Consequently, our dynamic reference work maintains academic standards while evolving and adapting in response to new research. You can cite fixed editions that are created on a quarterly basis and stored in our Archives (every entry contains a link to its complete archival history, identifying the fixed edition the reader should cite). The Table of Contents lists entries that are published or assigned. The Projected Table of Contents also lists entries which are currently unassigned but nevertheless projected.

Dates of coverage: 1914 but varies by series
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: International and Foreign, Statistics, Polls & Data Sets, General

The official source for Canadian social and economic statistics offers searching of CANSIM, the key socioeconomic database, updated daily. Data on Canada’s census, government, trade, cultural resources, and other statistical programs is available.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access
Type: Handbooks

Creates literature lists of thermodynamic and transport properties of molecular organic compounds for chemical systems of three components or less. NIST searches are required by certain journals; also useful for proposals and active research. Select system type, search for simple molecules, select the property to get report draft that can be used to make PDF.

Dates of coverage: present
Full text: All
Access: Open Access

Thomas Register is a comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. Users can search by product, company, or brand name through more than 72,000 product headings and more than 170,000 company listings.

Dates of coverage: 1966 - present
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles

This database is produced by the National Library of Medicine and indexes articles in medical research journals. Updated quarterly, TOXLINE indexes about 4,000 sources of biomedical literature that cover toxic effects of drugs and other chemicals. Part of TOXNET website.

Dates of coverage: 1900 - present
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

TRID, the world's largest transportation research database, includes nearly one million records, including references for journal articles, technical reports, conference proceedings and more. Comprehensively covers the research literature on all transport modes, with aspects including planning, finance, design/construction, materials, environmental issues, safety, human factors, operations. Not included: vehicle standards/specs, patents, military transport. TRID is produced by Transportation Research Board (U.S.) and is made up of the former TRIS database from TRB plus the International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database (from OECD partner countries).

Dates of coverage: Varies
Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

TRIS is a U.S. Transportation Research Board (TRB) website featuring links to TRB databases and publications, as well as TRID, the comprehensive transportation research database formed by integrating the former TRIS database with the International Transport Research Documentation Database (see above). Please note: UNH currently subscribes to most TRB publications in print (search Library Catalog by publication title; ex. Transportation Research Record).

Dates of coverage: Varies by title
Full text: None; abstracts only
Access: Open Access
Type: Articles, Newspapers

Includes citations to articles in University of New Hampshire newspapers and periodicals. Citations list article keywords, topic of article, title of article, date of publication, and serial title.

Dates of coverage: 1993 - present, with older documents being added
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: International and Foreign

Includes official UN documents exclusive of sales publications, press releases, treaties, and Department of Public Information brochures. Also includes resolutions from various UN bodies from 1947- present. Searching is available in the official UN languages of Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian, and Spanish.

Full text: Some
Access: Open Access

Health Services is an integrated health and wellness service that operates from a holistic perspective. The Health Services website provides information about programs, services and education as well as links to resources on a wide range of topics from nutrition to yoga to time management.

Dates of coverage: 1994 - varies by publication
Full text: All
Access: Open Access
Type: US Federal

FDsys (Federal Digital System) searches official U. S. Government publications from the executive, legislative, and judicial branches. Search for documents, access their metadata, and download in multiple formats.